Introduction_the first post \\ Jonathan Henry

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome everyone to what could be a very interesting tool for me and for those who are interested in design.  Although there are assuredly many design blogs out there that will showcase all sorts of design fields as a way to contribute to the communities consciousness of the work being produced, I believe that here I can offer an skewed op-ed view on how these can culminate into design thought. I am educated as an architect with my Masters from Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc).

Architects have a unique ability to sift through the inspirational content of design, science, philosophy, mathematics etc. and bastardize all of it through stretching the concepts out of their initial intentions and into something that either helps to supports or refute their stance. Architects are ruthless and willing to ruin perfectly stable notions of society in order make a point.  And this is my aim.  Nothing is sacrosanct and nothing is above reproach. Nothing I say here will be definitive (even though I may sound like it). This will be an open forum to explore little by little the images that fascinate, the readings that titillate, and the concepts that I investigate.  The aim is to seek common concepts that can be cauterized out of the musings found here and to become more focused in my explorations of society and designs ramifications on it.

Please, all feel free to comment! Every moment is a teachable moment and as much as I want to put my views into the world, so to should the world be brought into mine.

Happy exploring…

-J

~ by jonathanhenry on January 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
